Lightner Witmer Award

Nomination Deadline: April 1st – Chair: Stacy-Ann January,



Each year, APA’s Division of School Psychology (Division 16) presents the Lightner Witmer Award to early career professional and academic school psychologists who have demonstrated scholarship that merits special recognition. Sustained scholarship, rather than a thesis or dissertation alone, is the primary consideration in making the award.  While a specific scholarly work may be salient in the evaluation of a nominee, it is not likely that a single work will be of such exceptional character that it would be the basis of the award. Similarly, the number of papers, articles, etc., will not by themselves be a sufficient basis for the award. Instead, the Lightner Witmer Award will be given for scholarly activity and contributions that have nourished school psychology to grow as a discipline and profession within the current context. This might include systematic and imaginative use of psychological theory and research in furthering the development of professional practice, or unusual scientific contributions and/or foundational studies of important research questions that bear on the quality of school psychological training and/or practice; and/or scholarly activity that advances educational equity and social justice within the field. In addition, there should be evidence of continued potential and promise to impact and advance school psychology into the future. Self-nominations are welcome.



Nominees must meet the following criteria:

  1. Be within seven years of receiving the doctoral degree as of September 1, 2024. 
  2. A Division 16 member.

How to Apply


Please submit:

1) A copy of the nominee’s CV (required);                           

2) A 1-2 page personal statement from the nominee describing their scholarly activity and its impact on the field (optional but encouraged);

3) Up to three examples of representative scholarship (e.g., peer-reviewed articles);

4) Up to three letters of support from community partners and/or colleagues that describe the impact of the nominee’s scholarship.

by 11:59PM EST on April 1, 2024 via this form.

Past Recipients


2024: Stephanie Moore
2023: Sujay Sabnis & Tyler Smith
Honorable Mention: Katie Maki 

Marisa Marraccini & Chunyan Yang
Stacy-Ann January & Ethan Van Norman
2020: Lindsay Fallon & David Klingbeil
2019: Melissa Collier-Meek & Evan Dart
2018: Nathaniel P. von der Embse
Honorable Mention: Katie Eklund
Keith C. Radley, Tyler Renshaw
Andrew Garbacz, Stephen P. Kilgus
2015: Nathan Clemens
2014: Amy M. Briesch
Honorable Mention: Matthew Reynolds
2013: Amanda Sullivan
2012:  Lisa Sanetti
2011:  Wendy Reinke
2010:  Robin Codding, Andrew Roach
2009:  Shannon Suldo
2008:  Theodore Christ
2007:  Scott Ardoin, Jessica Hoffman
2006:  Amanda VanDerHeyden
2005:  Jim DiPerna
2004:  Richard Gilman
2003:  Melissa Bray, Shane Jimerson
2002:  Tanya Eckert
2000:  George H. Noell
1999:  John Hintze, Cynthia Riccio
1998:  Steuart Watson

1997: Dawn Flanagan
No award presented
Christopher Skinner
Gregg Macmann
Susan Sheridan
Sandra Christenson
William Erchul
  Brian Martens, Kevin Stark
1989:  Janet Graden, Howard Knoff
1988:  Marybeth Gettinger, Timothy Keith
1987:  Jack Kramer, Edward Shapiro
1986:  Joe Witt
1985:  Cathy F. Telzrow
1984:  Stephen Elliott
1983:  George W. Hynd
1982:  Frank M. Gresham
1981:  Terry B. Gutkin, Frederic J. Medway
1980:  Cecil R. Reynolds
1979:  Raymond S. Dean
1978:  Emmanual J. Mason
1977:  Thomas R. Kratochwill
1976:  Judith L. Alpert
1975:  no award presented
1974:  Ellen C. Bien
1973:  James E. Ysseldyke