Tom Oakland Mid-Career Scholarship Award

Nomination Deadline: April 1st – Chair: Laura Lee McIntyre,



Each year, APA’s Division of School Psychology (Division 16) presents an award in honor of Tom Oakland whose extraordinary scholarly pursuits significantly contributed to the field of school psychology. The Tom Oakland Mid-Career Scholarship Award is given to a mid-career school psychologist (7 to 20 years post-graduation) who throughout their career has demonstrated exceptional scholarly activity that merit special recognition. While a specific scholarly work may be salient in the evaluation of a nominee, it is not likely that a single work will be of such exceptional character that it would be the basis of the award. Similarly, the number of papers, articles, etc., will not by themselves be a sufficient basis for the award. Instead, the Tom Oakland Award will be given for scholarly activity and contributions that have nourished school psychology to grow as a discipline and profession within the current context. This might include systematic and imaginative use of psychological theory and research in furthering the development of professional practice, or unusual scientific contributions and/or foundational studies of important research questions that bear on the quality of school psychological training and/or practice, or scholarly activity that advances educational equity and social justice within the field. In addition, there should be evidence that the scholarly activity has begun to influence other research in the field, as well as continued potential and promise to impact and advance school psychology into the future. Self-nominations are welcome.



Nominees must meet the following criteria:

  1. Be between seven and 20 years of receiving the doctoral degree as of September 1, 2024. 
  2. A Division 16 member.

How to Apply


Please submit

1) A copy of the nominee’s CV (required);                           

2) A 1-2 page personal statement from the nominee describing their scholarly activity and its impact on the field (optional but encouraged);

3) Up to three examples of representative scholarship (e.g., peer-reviewed articles);

4) Up to three letters of support from community partners and/or colleagues that describe the impact of the nominee’s scholarship.

by 11:59PM EST on April 1, 2024 via this form.

Past Recipients


2024: Sherrie Proctor
2023: Amanda Sullivan
Lisa Sanetti
Laura Lee McIntyre
Amanda Nickerson
Shannon Suldo
Wendy M. Reinke
Chris Riley-Tillman
 Sandra M. Chafouleas, Shane R. Jimerson