Select Page

SASP Diversity Scholarship

Annual Deadline: April 20th


SASP and Div. 16 support students from under-represented cultural backgrounds as they endeavor to become a part of the inspiring profession of School Psychology. SASP and Div. 16 are aware of the financial pressures that graduate students experience and thus, through generous support from Div. 16, the Diversity Scholarship Program was created to provide monetary support to aid students from diverse cultural backgrounds entering the field. SASP offers the following three awards each year for student support: two incoming student awards in the amount of $500 and an advanced student award in the amount of $1,000. Recipients of the awards are invited to attend the APA Convention to be recognized for their award. 


Incoming Student Diversity Scholarships

Two annual awards of $500 are given to master’s/specialist or doctoral students who will be entering their first or second year of graduate training to help defer some of the costs acquired through graduate study. This is a one-time award; individuals granted the awards may not reapply in subsequent years. For students who will be starting their first year in the fall, proof of an offer of admittance and acceptance into a school psychology program will be required.

Advanced Student Diversity Scholarship

One annual award of $1,000 is given to an advanced masters/specialist or doctoral student who will be entering their third, fourth, or fifth year of graduate training to help defer some of the costs acquired through graduate study or in preparation for internship. This is a one-time award; individuals granted the award may not reapply in subsequent years. Please note that the individual who wins this award is required to present a poster highlighting their research at the Annual SASP Student Research Forum (SRF) at the APA Convention.

How to Apply

To apply for either award, fill out the application form. Please email your files to Marie Tanaka. The following materials must be included with your application:

  • Completed online application
  • Current resume/curriculum vitae
  • A purpose statement of professional goals (maximum 1,000 words)
  • Transcript (can be unofficial) from the applicant’s undergraduate and graduate institution (for incoming second-year students only)
  • Two (2) letters of recommendation typed on official letterhead.

Both recommendations for incoming first-year students can be from undergraduate faculty members; however, incoming second-year students should include at least one recommendation from a current graduate faculty member. Letters of recommendation should explain how the applicant has, would bring, or would enhance diversity within their school psychology program.

Additional Instructions

  • Be sure to highlight any campus and community activities with which you may be involved, as well as any honors, awards, and scholarships you may have received.
  • The application package must be emailed to the Diversity Affairs Chair Marie Tanaka. Late applications will not be accepted.
  • Please send all of the documents (including signed recommendation letters, if possible) as ONE PDF file in one email. Save the application document with a file name formatted as: lastname_typeofaward_application2019. All materials (resume/CV, statement, transcripts) should be saved as a one PDF file. The only exception is for letters of recommendation that must be sent directly to Marie Tanaka. It is your responsibility to make sure Marie has received both letters to complete your application.

If you have any questions, please feel free to email Marie Tanaka.

Past Recipients


Joseph Armendarez, University of Rhode Island (Advanced Student Award)
Suchun Dong, Pace University (Incoming Student Award)
Dylan Okechukwu Barton, University of Arizona (Incoming Student Award)


Chathuri Illapperuma, Mississippi State University (Incoming Student Award)
Melanie Nelson, University of British Columbia (Advanced Student Award)
Raul Palacios, University of Nebraska-Lincoln (Incoming Student Award)


Leslie Jenkins, Indiana University (Advanced Student Award)
Tamique Ridgard, Lehigh University (Incoming Student Award)


Sierra Brown, Duquesne University (Incoming Student Award)
Imad Zaheer, Lehigh University (Advanced Student Award)


Giselle Colorado
Stacy White


Lillie Huddleston, Georgia State University
Ya Zhang, Michigan State University