Select Page

Division 16 Continuing Education

We proudly offer a wealth of opportunities for members to earn CE credits and learn from the field's top experts!
Upcoming Live EventsRecorded Events (Coming Soon!)

CE Requirements by State

State Credits Year Deadline (Renewal corresponds to individual expiration date) Specifics
Alabama 20 1 October 1 to September 30
Alaska 20 1 July 1 3 ethics
Arizona 60 2 April 30, odd 40 Category 1; 20 category 2; 4 hours Professional Ethics, Risk Management; 4 hours Domestic/Intimate Person Violence; Child Abuse Recognition and Reporting (DPW approved)
Arkansas 20 1 June 30
California 36 2 renewal 25% live (9 hours)
Colorado 40 2 Aug. 31, Odd With the exception of five (5) PDH, activities must qualify as continuing education units or continuing medical education credit as approved and/or accredited by the American Psychological Association, state medical association, Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education, or by a regionally accredited institution of higher education. 
Connecticut 10 1 renewal Conditions Relevant to Veterans and Their Family
Delaware 40 2 July 31, odd
District of Columbia 30 2 December 31, odd
Florida 40 2 May 31, even Prevention of Medical Errors; Professional Ethics, Risk Management
Georgia 40 2 December 31, even
Hawaii 18 2 June 30, even (for renewals starting 7/16)
Idaho 20 1 renewal Professional Ethics, Risk Management
Illinois 24 2 September 30, even Professional Ethics, Risk Management
Indiana 40 2 August 31, even Professional Ethics, Risk Management
Iowa 40 2 June 30, even Professional Ethics, Risk Management; Mental Health Laws and Regulations
Kansas 50 2 June 30, even Diagnosis and Treatment
Kentucky 39 3 renewal
Louisiana 30 2 June 30, year based on license number Professional Ethics, Risk Management (or Forensics)
Maine 36 2 April 30, even (40 for renewals starting 7/16)
Maryland 40 2 March 31, year based on license number Professional Ethics, Risk Management; Cultural Diversity
Massachusetts 20 2 June 30, even
Michigan 30 2 renewal 2 pain management; 3 hours Professional Ethics, Risk Management; training in identifying human trafficking victims
Minnesota 40 2 renewal
Mississippi 20 2 June 30, odd 2 Professional Ethics, Risk Management
Missouri 40 2 November 30, odd renewal
Montana 40 2 December 31, year based on license number
Nebraska 24 2 January 1, odd 6 hours scientific and professional ethics and standards; 2 evidence-based suicide prevention; no more than 15 distance learning
Nevada 30 2 December 31, odd renewal Professional Ethics, Risk Management (or scientific ethics); Suicide Prevention and Awareness
New Hampshire 40 2 renewal 6 ethics
New Jersey 40 2 June 30, odd renewal
(10 must be live, 4 domestic violence)
Effective 6/1/2017, 40 CE hours every 2 years, 10 must be live, 4 DV. June 1, odd years.
New Mexico 40 2 July 1 6 Cultural Diversity
New York 36 3 January 1 Beginning January 1, 2021 each Licensed Psychologist must complete 36 hours of approved continuing education courses for each triennial registration period. All courses must be taken from psychology providers approved by the State Education Department, on the basis of an application, fee and the requirements in Education Law and Commissioner’s Regulations. Only courses taken from approved providers on or after January 1, 2021 are acceptable. SCP does not currently have any programs approved for CE in NY
North Carolina 18 2 October 1, even October 1, even years, September 30, odd years; 3 hours in Professional Ethics, Risk Management
North Dakota 40 2 October 31 3 Professional Ethics, Risk Management, law, jurisprudence;
Ohio 23 2 August 31, even 3 Professional Ethics, Risk Management
Oklahoma 20 1 December 31 CPE cal year Oct 1 through Sep 30; report due Nov 1; Professional Ethics, Risk Management
Oregon 40 2 renewal 50 CE; 4 CE in  ethics; 7 CE pain management; 1 time requirement 1 CE provided by Oregon Pain  Management Commission within first 24 mo of first renewal notice
Pennsylvania 30 2 November 30, odd Child Abuse Recognition and Reporting (DPW approved)
Puerto Rico 45 3 renewal
Rhode Island 24 2 June 30, even
South Carolina 24 2 renewal
South Dakota 1 June 30 (no set #, but must earn some Ce)
Tennessee 40 2 December 31 1.5 ethics/1.5 diversity
Texas 20 1 45th day after expiration date 3 Professional Ethics, Risk Management
Utah 48 2 October 1, even 25/year, so edit to read 50; 3 Professional Ethics, Risk Management
Vermont 60 2 renewal 3 Professional Ethics, Risk Management
Virginia 14 1 June 30 1.5 Professional Ethics, Risk Management
Washington 60 3 renewal Professional Ethics, Risk Management; Suicide Prevention and Awareness; AIDS Education
West Virginia 20 2 renewal 15/year, so edit to read 45
Wisconsin 40 2 September 30, odd Professional Ethics, Risk Management
Wyoming 30 2 renewal

CE credit requirements vary.

Information from: https://www.continuingeducation.com/psychology/state-ce-requirements/nevada