Select Page

To recognize groups or individuals who champion the interests of early career psychologists.

The APA Committee on Early Career Psychologists (CECP) invites nominations for its annual Champion Award. This recognition award is presented to individuals or groups that have shown exceptional support to early career members and CECP and are concerned with, knowledgeable about, and familiar with issues related to early career psychologists in the field of psychology. In the past, recipients have demonstrated ongoing support and an overall commitment to advancing the interests of early career psychologists at APA or in related professional societies and associations. A plaque will be presented at the APA Annual Convention during the ECP Social Hour.

Individuals and groups may self‐nominate. Nominators and nominees need not be APA members.

How to Apply
All nominations must include a brief statement of support for the nominee (250 words max). Optionally, you can strengthen the nomination by including any supporting documentation or weblinks that highlight the individual’s or group’s focus on the interests of early career psychologists.

Nomination must be received by the end of the day on June 15, 2018. Direct questions and nomination materials to Lucia Gutierrez, PhD, by email at

Past recipients
2017 – Rick McGraw, PhD; APA Committee on Rural Health
2016 – Ian King, MBA; Nancy Moore, PhD, MBA
2015 – Susan McDaniel, PhD; APA Board of Convention Affairs
2014 – Rhea Farberman; American Board of Professional Psychology (ABPP)
2013 – Nadine Kaslow, PhD; Elena Eisman, PhD; APA Committee for the Advancement of Professional Practice
2012 ‐ Suzanne Bennett Johnson, PhD; APA Board of Convention Affairs 2011 ‐ Carol Goodheart, EdD; APA Membership Board