Select Page


President Catherine A. Fiorello, PhD, ABPP

Catherine A. Fiorello, Ph.D., is Professor of School Psychology at Temple University, where she currently serves as Chair of the Psychological Studies in Education department. She received a B.A. in psychology from Clark University, and an M.S. in Education and Ph.D. in School Psychology from the University of Kentucky. Dr. Fiorello also completed a clinical postdoctoral fellowship at the University of Kentucky, focusing on assessment and intervention for children with AD/HD. Dr. Fiorello is a licensed psychologist in Pennsylvania, and holds Board Certification in School Psychology from the American Board of Professional Psychology. She continues to maintain a diagnostic assessment private practice. Dr. Fiorello’s area of research specialization is in the area of cognitive and neuropsychological assessment. She also has publications and clinical experience in the areas of learning and behavior disorders, health-related disorders, low incidence disabilities, and school neuropsychology.

Dr. Fiorello has served Division 16 as Treasurer, Vice-President of Education, Training, and Scientific Affairs, and liaison to the Board of Education Affairs prior to assuming the Presidency.

President-Elect Melissa A. Bray, PhD

Melissa A. Bray is a Professor and the Director of the School Psychology program within the Neag School of Education at the University of Connecticut.  She is a Fellow of both the American Psychological Association and the American Psychological Society. Dr. Bray is an elected member of the Society for the Study of School Psychology. She is licensed as a psychologist in the State of Connecticut, holds national certification in school psychology, state certification in school psychology, and licensure in speech language pathology. Since receiving her doctorate in 1997, she has published or has in press over 175 articles, chapters, and reviews in the professional literature, and has presented over 100 scholarly papers at national and international conferences. In several studies on faculty productivity it was determined that Dr. Bray was the first or second most prolific contributor to the 5 primary journals in school psychology. Further, she serves as associate editor of the International Journal of School and Educational Psychology and has served as an associate editor of School Psychology Quarterly. She also serves on many other editorial boards. Of interest, she is the co-editor of the first Oxford handbook of school psychology. She has also guest edited 9 issues of Psychology in the Schools on video self-modeling, behavior disorders, positive psychology, statistical reform, childhood obesity, counseling and emotional disorders and equity-based practice. As co-principle investigator, she has secured over $2 million dollars in student training contracts. Of particular significance, Dr. Bray was the 2003 recipient of the prestigious American Psychological Association Division 16’s Lightner Witmer Award, the Division’s highest honor given to young scholars. She has also been involved in state, national, and international professional associations including service as Vice-President, Social, Ethical Responsibility, and Ethnic Minority Affairs, and is currently President-Elect of APA’s Division 16 Executive Committee. Dr. Bray has also served as the Division 16’s convention chair, hospitality suite coordinator, chair of the Division’s publications committee, and as a member of the conversation videotape series. Her research interests are in the area of interventions for communication disorders mainly stuttering, classroom disruptive behavior, and physical health and wellness, especially asthma and cancer.

Past President Lea A. Theodore, PhD

As a professor of school psychology and a licensed psychologist, Lea A. Theodore, PhD, has focused her scholarship on effectively bridging the gap between research and practice to improve the academic, social and emotional adjustment/functioning of all individuals, with the long-term goal of improving overall levels of subjective well-being. Her research focuses on the development of effective and efficient intervention strategies to improve students’ academic and behavioral functioning. Theodore is very interested in evidence-based interventions for children and adolescents, which have been shown to enhance and augment children’s global functioning. She is currently editing a handbook entitled, “The Handbook of Applied Interventions for Children and Adolescents,” scheduled to be published by Springer Publishing Company in summer 2016. Theodore also maintains a private practice, serving children and families, while also consulting with school districts.

Theodore is active in Div. 16 of the American Psychological Association (APA), for which she has served as division co-chair and chair of the APA annual convention hospitality suite, co-chair and chair of the division’s annual convention program and as a member of the Conversation Series Committee. She extended her contributions to APA in nationally elected positions, including president of Div. 16 (2015-2017), vice president of professional affairs (2009-2011) and vice president of Div. 16 membership (2006-2008). Further, Theodore served as associate editor for School Psychology Quarterly, the APA representative to the Public Interest (PI) Directorate network and the division’s representative to co-write the 2012 school psychology petition to the Commission for the Recognition of Specialties and Proficiencies in Professional Psychology (CRSPPP) within APA. As an advocate for mental health services for children and families, Theodore lobbied legislators on Capitol Hill for the passage of the Mental Health Parity Act.

Vice Presidents & Officers

Vice President for Convention Affairs & Public Relations (VP-CAPR) (2017-19)
Rik D’Amato
The Chicago School of Professional Psychology, Department of School Psychology
Phone: (312) 467-2505

Vice President for Education, Training, & Scientific Affairs (VP-ETSA) (2017-19)
Franci Crepeau-Hobson
University of Colorado Denver
School of Education and Human Development
Phone: (303) 315-6315

Vice President for Membership (2018-20)
David Hulac
University of Northern Colorado
College of Education and Behavioral Sciences
Telephone: (970) 351-1640

Vice President for Professional Affairs (VP-PA) (2018-20)
Janine Jones
University of Washington
School Psychology Program
Telephone: (206) 616-6370

Vice President of Publications and Communication (VP-PC) (2016-18)
Michelle Perfect
University of Arizona
College of Education
Telephone: (520) 626-1128

Vice President for Social, Ethical, and Ethnic Minority Affairs (VP-SEREMA) (2016-18)
Yadira Sánchez
Academia Maria Reina
Telephone: (787) 764-0690

Secretary (2016-18)
Prerna Arora
Pace University
Department of Psychology
Telephone: (212) 346-1434

Treasurer (2017-19)
Cyndi Riccio
Texas A & M University
College of Education and Human Development
Phone: (979) 862-4906

Council Representatives

Tammy Hughes (2017-19)
Duquesne University
Counseling, Psychology & Special Education
Telephone: (412) 396-5191

Bonnie K. Nastasi (2016-18)
Tulane University
Department of Psychology
Telephone: (504) 432-8632

Samuel Y. Song (2016-18)
Seattle University
College of Education
Telephone: (206) 398-4585