Contributions to Practice Award

Nomination Deadline: April 1st – Chair: Steve McCallum,



Each year, APA’s Division of School Psychology (Division 16) presents the Outstanding Contributions to Practice Award. The award is given to school psychologists who have demonstrated exceptional contributions to the field of school psychology through innovations in practice. Self-nominations are welcome.



Nominees should:

  1. Demonstrate significant contributions to the field of school psychology in the domain of practice. Examples include: creation and dissemination of assessments, interventions, or practice models; encouraging best practices through advocacy, policy, and legislative work; development of innovative preservice or inservice training or supervision programs.
  2. Be a Member of Division 16.

How to Apply


1) A copy of the nominee’s CV (required);                            

2) A 1-2 page personal statement from the nominee describing their commitment to and impact of their practice to the field (optional but encouraged);

3) Up to three letters of support from community partners and/or peers/colleagues to demonstrate impact of practice contributions.

All nominations and related materials must be submitted by 11:59PM EST on April 1, 2024 via this form. Please contact Committee Chair, Steve McCallum, at or Division 16’s Vice President for Education, Training and Scientific Affairs (VP-ETSA), Lindsay Fallon at with questions.

Past Recipients

2024: Andria Amador
No Award
R. Brett Nelson
Steve McCallum
Carlen Henington
Robyn Hess
 Dawn Flanagan