Jean Baker Mid-Career Service Award

Annual Deadline: April 1st – Chair: Sam Song,



Each year, the Division of School Psychology presents an annual award in honor of Jean Baker whose extraordinary professional service and scholarly activity significantly contributed to the field of school psychology. The Jean Baker Mid-Career Service Award is awarded to professional and academic school psychologists, from 7 to 20 years post-graduation, who have demonstrated exceptional contributions to the field of school psychology through programs of sustained and impactful service. Examples of such contributions include: major leadership in the administration of psychological service in the schools; major contributions in the development and implementation of policy leading to psychologically and socially sound training and practice in school psychology; sustained direction or participation in research that has contributed to more effective practice in school psychology; or the inauguration or development of training programs for new school psychologists or for the systematic nurturance of in-service training for psychologists engaged in the practice of school psychology. Self-nominations are welcome.



Nominees should meet both of these criteria:

  1. Be between seven and 20 years of receiving the doctoral degree as of September 1, 2024.
  2. Be a Division 16 member.

How to Apply


The following materials must be submitted for each nominee: 

1) A copy of the nominee’s CV (required)

2) a 1-2 page personal statement from the nominee describing their commitment to and impact of their service to the field (optional);

3) Up to three letters of support from community partners and/or peers/colleagues to demonstrate impact of service. 

All nominations and related materials must be submitted by 11:59PM on April 1, 2024 via this form. Please contact Committee Chair, Sam Song at or Division 16’s Vice President for Education, Training and Scientific Affairs (VP-ETSA), Lindsay Fallon at with questions.

Past Recipients


2024: Celeste Malone
Samuel Song & Lea Theodore
 Tammy Hughes